Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization. From the ballot box to the classroom, the thousands of dedicated workers, organizers, leaders and members who make up the NAACP continue to fight for social justice for all Americans. The NAACP was founded by a diverse group composed of W. E. B. Du Bois, Ida B. Wells, Archibald Grimké, Henry Moskowitz, Mary White Ovington, Oswald Garrison Villard, William English Walling (the last son of a former slave-holding family),[12][13] Florence Kelley, a social reformer and friend of Du Bois,[14] and Charles Edward Russell, a renowned muckraker and close friend of Walling who helped plan the NAACP and served as acting chairman of the National Negro Committee (1909), a forerunner to the NAACP.[15]


National Association for the Advancement of Colored People


Mr. Robert W. Davis

Mr. J.W. Watson

Mrs. Claudia W. Holland

Mrs. Mammie P. McGill

Mr. H. Brantley

Mr. Ezekiel Simmons

Mr. Clayton Taylor

Mr. Willie Woodard

Davis President

Vice President


Assistance Secretary



Press & Publicity Chairman

Ways & Means Chairman

Designed by Professional Interactive Solutions